Home

I go walking in the woodland at the edge of my garden when ever I can. Sometimes I simply walk in wonder, listening to the sounds, breathing in the smells and atmosphere and feeling the sense of the place all around me until it seems to be absorbed within me. Sometimes I stroll and consider, letting ideas flow whilst I gather new inspiration. At other times I walk with an intention to record and share the images, sound and motion.

Yesterday I took my video camera and tripod deep into the forest and gathered some new footage for my Moving Painting. Last night I began editing that new material.

Today I took my still camera on the walk with me in the hope that I could collect similar images as the day before, but this time as still photographs in larger files.  (Video stills are very thin on information and not so good for printing as far as I can gather)

With so much preparation for my exhibition, talks and film screening events recently, I have not had time for raw creativity and at times like these I can soon begin to feel as if I am going a bit crazy. Lately, desperate for time to focus and create again I have been frustrated by anything or anyone who gets in my way. So this week I have made more time for myself, and my creativity. Nature nourishes me to my core. I particularity love to be surrounded by green, so I  have taken space for reflection, rejuvenation and fresh inspiration in the lush green forest and I can feel a new body of work emerging within me now.

I am excited. Something is stirring within me and I feel refreshed and alive again.

Leave a comment